Interesting Stories

Warner Chappell Music Philippines signs publishing agreement with ABS-CBN Music

ABS-CBN Music x Warner Chappell Music global publishing deal

Warner Chappell Music Philippines announced that it has signed a worldwide publishing agreement with ABS-CBN Music, under ABS-CBN Film Productions, Inc. (AFPI), which has one of the largest music catalogues in the Philippines.

The deal grants Warner Chappell Music global publishing administration rights to the entire song catalogue of ABS-CBN Music that will open new markets and opportunities for local composers.

ABS-CBN Music head Roxy Liquigan said, “This partnership with Warner Chappell Music is a great opportunity for Filipino music and our brilliant songwriters to reach greater heights as ABS-CBN strives to champion Filipino artistry on the global stage.”

Warner Chappell Music managing director for ASEAN Jacqueline Chong added, “ABS-CBN Music has been our key partner in the Philippines for many years. I am very excited for this new deal and can’t wait to evolve our partnership to a new level. ABS-CBN Music has a strong brand in the region and we look forward to enhancing that through our global support and expertise.”

ABS-CBN Music has been at the cutting edge of the Filipino music scene and is among the most influential music companies in the country that promotes original Filipino compositions to the rest of the world. It has more than 300 songwriters on its roster as well as thousands of songs in its catalogue.

The ABS-CBN Music catalogue includes the biggest Original Pilipino Music (OPM) hits—a genre of Philippine pop songs that has been highly popular in the country since the late 70s—by beloved Filipino composers, such as Freddie Aguilar, George Canseco, Mike Hanopol, and Rey Valera, including timeless Filipino classics, such as “Anak,” “Jeproks (Laki Sa Layaw),” “Kahit Maputi Na Ang Buhok Ko,” and “Kastilyong Buhangin” to name a few, as well as iconic hits like “Awitin Mo, Isasayaw Ko” by Joey De Leon and Marvic Sotto and “May Bukas Pa” by Charo Unite and Ernesto dela Pena.

It also includes recent hits by today’s best composers, such as “Dahil Sa’Yo” by Inigo Pascual and Gabriel Tagadtad, “Hawak Kamay” by Yeng Constantino, “Malaya” by Moira dela Torre, “Mr. Right” by Christian Martinez, “Nanghihinayang” by Larry Hermoso, “Patuloy Ang Pangarap” by Jonathan Manalo, and winning songs of the Himig Handog music competitions, such as “Hanggang” by Ronnie and Gigi Cordero, “Kung Ako Na Lang Sana” by Soc Villanueva, and “Mabagal” by Dan Martel Tañedo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress